Liverpool duo help Cristiano Ronaldo retain Player of the Year title


Liverpool duo Jordan Henderson and Ragnar Klavan helped ensure Cristiano Ronaldo retained his Player of the Year title at the Best FIFA Football Awards in London.

Henderson as England captain and Estonia skipper Klavan both had the opportunity to vote and opted for the Real Madrid attacker, who led his club to a La Liga and Champions League double.

Henderson’s top three was Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and former Liverpool team-mate Luis Suarez. Klavan went with Ronaldo, Eden Hazard and Messi.


Interestingly, both Henderson and Klavan found room for Tottenham’s Mauricio Pochettino in their top threes.

Henderson went with Zidane, Pochettino and Diego Simeone, while Klavan opted for Zidane, Antonio Conte and Pochettino.

England boss Gareth Southgate voted for Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Toni Kroos for Player of the Year, and Zidane, Conte and Massimiliano Allegri for Coach of the Year.