OFFICIAL: Iker Casillas beat Cristiano and Messi to win Golden Foot 2017


The Golden Foot is awarded to a player over the age of 28 and marks the whole of a career rather than being decided on performances over a season or calendar year. Casillas is the second consecutive keeper to win the award after Gianluigi Buffon scooped the prize last year.


The veteran Porto keeper saw off competition from nine other candidates to lift the award: Cristiano Ronaldo, Sergio Ramos, Manuel Neuer, Leo Messi, Arjen Robben, Thiago Silva, Luis Suárez, Yaya Touré and Andrea Pirlo, who this week announced his retirement from the game.

Previous Golden Foot Awards by country

Italy: Roberto Baggio (2003), Alessandro Del Piero (2007), Francesco Totti (2010) and Buffon (2016).

Brazil: Ronaldo, (2006), Roberto Carlos (2008) and Ronaldinho (2009).

Spain: Andrés Iniesta (2014) and Iker Casillas (2017