Suarez claims penalty injustice

Barcelona striker Luis Suarez has bemoaned not being awarded a penalty in Tuesday night’s draw against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

The Uruguayan challenge went down under pressure from home defender Antonio Rudiger but moments later the visitors found an away goal through Lionel Messi.

“As soon as the ball arrived at me, I was knocked off my balance by Rudiger,” Suarez told reporters, as quoted by Marca.

“I tried to stay on my feet but the impact knocked me over…but the referee did not make the decision, so I tried to press and win back the ball.

“It was a tough game but I did not feel alone, you need to be intelligent and look for answers to the questions, i.e. Messi dropped deeper to find more space.

“The goal was important as we now have an advantage going into the home leg, where we will be able to find more space and more opportunities.”