Real Madrid denied two penalties in El Clasico, says AS resident ref


Two challenges on Raphael Varane went unpunished in the first half of Wednesday’s Clásico – wrongly so, says Eduardo Iturralde González.

Real Madrid were wrongly denied two penalties in the space of a couple of first-half minutes in Wednesday’s Clásico against Barcelona, says AS’ resident referee.

No penalty given after Lenglet tackle on Varane
In the 18th minute at the Camp Nou, Barça defender Clément Lenglet appeared to catch his countryman with a studs-up challenge in the box, but the tackle went unpunished by both match referee Alejandro Hernández Hernández and video assistant Ricardo de Burgos Bengoetxea

However, former FIFA official Eduardo Iturralde González said: “It’s a clear penalty because it’s dangerous play, his studs go into Varane’s leg.”


Rakitic tug on Varane in the penalty box also unpunished
Soon afterwards, Varane seemed to be pulled back by Barcelona midfielder Ivan Rakitic as he prepared to head a corner towards goal.

Once more, Iturralde González disagreed with the decision not to award a spot-kick. “It’s a prolonged tug in the area and it’s a penalty. Varane should have had two penalties in two minutes.