Barcelona wins the La Liga title for the first time since 2019


Barcelona have been declared La Liga champions for the first time in four years, having not lifted the trophy since 2019.

The Blaugrana beat local rivals Espanyol 4-2 at home to be crowned champions for the 2022/23 season, dethroning Real Madrid.

After 11 minutes of play, Barcelona took the lead with Robert Lewandowski’s goal, with Alejandro Balden providing the assist.

2-0 was taken care of by Balde, who changed his role from assistant to scorer, while he was replaced by Pedri who gave him a beautiful assist.

The third goal for the Catalans was scored by the Polish striker in the 40th minute, which was his second personal goal in the match.

The second half was also dominated by Barcelona, ​​until they scored the fourth goal, while conceding two others.


In the 53rd minute, Frenkie de Jong assisted Jules Kounde, who scored with a header for the score 4-0.

Espanyol then took a risk through Javi Puado (70′), but Marc-Andre ter Stegen made a fantastic save.

The German failed to wait for Puado’s shot four minutes later, which he made 4-1.

But the locals didn’t stop there – until they scored the second through Joselu (90+2′), but that didn’t stop Barca’s celebration for the title.

After the 34th week, Barcelona is the leader with 85 points, 14 more than the eternal rival Real Madrid, while in the 35th round as champion, they meet Real Sociedad.