Which footballers would have won the ‘Ballon D’Or’ if Messi and Ronaldo did not exist

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo won 12 Ballons d’Or and France Football analyzed which footballers would have won the prestigious trophy if both did not exist.

The Argentine won seven, while the Portuguese five-time winner of the most prestigious individual award, and if those two did not exist, many top footballers could boast the aforementioned award.

Messi and Ronaldo won the aforementioned awards from 2008 to 2017, with the Argentine adding more awards in 2019 and 2021, and France Football took the aforementioned analysis.

Thus, Fernando Torres, Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Franck Ribery, Manuel Neuer, Neymar, Antoine Griezmann, Virgil van Dijk and Robert Lewandowski can win the Ballon d’Or.

In 2008, the award would go to Fernando Torres, followed by the dominance of Barça duo Xavi and Andres Iniesta, who would win the aforementioned award twice each.

Bayern Munich’s Franck Ribery and Manuel Neuer would then win the aforementioned award, after which Neymar would win twice in three years and Antoine Griezmann would also have his moment to win the award.

Virgil van Dijk would win it in 2019 and become the first defender since Fabio Cannavaro to win the Ballon d’Or and in 2021 it would go to Robert Lewandowski.

List of Ballon d’Or winners if Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo didn’t exist:

2008 – Fernando Torres

2009 – Xavi

2010 – Andres Iniesta

2011 – Xavi

2012 – Andres Iniesta

2013 – Franck Ribery

2014 – Manuel Neuer

2015 – Neymar

2016 – Antoine Griezmann

2017 – Neymar

2019 – Virgil van Dijk

2021 – Robert Lewandowski.